Can These Bones Live?

The hand of the Lord was on me, and he brought me out by the Spirit of the Lord and set me in the middle of a valley; it was full of bones. He led me back and forth among them, and I saw a great many bones on the floor of the valley, bones that were very dry. He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”

I said, “Sovereign Lord, you alone know.”

Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says to these bones: I will make breath enter you, and you will come to life. I will attach tendons to you and make flesh come upon you and cover you with skin; I will put breath in you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’”

Ezekiel 37:1-6

There is so much I could say about this scripture. It comes to my mind often. It came to me again last weekend.

Later in the chapter God explains that Ezekiel’s vision represents the nation of Israel being brought from spiritual death back to life, but like much of the Bible there are further meanings that the Holy Spirit will bring to readers according to their own circumstances and needs.

It is one of the few passages in the Old Testament that speaks of the promise of resurrection, which can point to Christ’s return from death and our own rebirth as Christian through belief in Him.

But I am reminded of Ezekiel when I see relationships apparently die. I am reminded of his vision when I see friends with apparently incurable illnesses. I am reminded whenever I see situations where hope is apparently gone. Because what is apparent to us is not necessarily what is apparent to God.

“Sovereign Lord, you alone know.”

This scripture gives me the confidence, the faith, to pray into those situations. To pray for God’s breath (ruach) to bring new life where our human eyes only see death.

“Then you will know that I am the Lord.”

2 thoughts on “Can These Bones Live?”

  1. Hello Gavin!

    (I know this is the most inappropriate means of connecting with you…but this is the avenue I could find. Please forgive me)

    Calvary greetings to you in the mighty name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    Awesome work you are doing on your blog.

    God be praised forever!

    My name (in short) is Tim and I am the administrator of the newly unveiled Christian Social Community: Rhemalog.

    Craving your indulgence, I will quickly like to intimate you on our purpose, goals and objectives.

    Rhemalog is a compound word, coined from “Rhema” and “Log”.
    It means, putting into writing(Log), your encounters in the Word of God(Rhema).
    Sharing with the beloved, the things that God has shown unto you in His Word.

    Rhemalog is established by the leading of the Holy Spirit, as a platform to enrich and impact the body of Christ all over the World!

    You will agree that there is a lot of degradation going on.
    Abuse, spiritual contaminations and pollutions.

    All you need is to refresh your social-media pages long enough…then boom!
    There you have it, in your face!
    But.
    Wouldnt it be awesome to have a sanctified environment?

    A platform built solely for the Children of God.
    Devoid of negativity around us, but filled with inspirations, encouragements and above all, the WORD OF GOD!

    This is our driving force.
    The clarion call that moved us to put Rhemalog in place.

    And this is our call to you: Would you like to join us?

    As one of the major (Christian) thinkers and opinion-makers out there, logically, it is a no-brainer that we need you, especially since our main goal is to ensure that the people are well fed.

    We need your insightful thoughts. Inspirational ideas. Well written pieces. We need YOU!

    We need you, not only as a member, but also as an A-List contributor.

    And we already have all the tools required.

    – Personal Blogging feature
    – Video sharing
    – Community pages (think facebook pages)
    – Timelines and profiles
    – Pictures, etc

    Together, we can build one of the most vibrant and impactful communities out there.

    Should you decide to join us now:

    – Your personal blog and info will be shared on our social media pages (with over 59,000 members)

    – Your community page will be featured. Meaning, it will come up first in searches and views (with its own cute ribbon)

    – You can host all your youtube and vimeo videos, thereby increasing your viewer-ship and enhancing your reach.

    – As an early adopter, you will be a part of a huge and influential community at its infant stage.

    Well, “gold and silver” we have not.
    But can you help us be a blessing to the children of God out there?

    It will be a huge honour and we will be waiting for you.

    rhemalog.com is the address.

    Thanks and may God keep His face shining on you.

    Yours,

    Tim
    Rhemalog Community

Leave a Reply

